PDA

View Full Version : Winter Refit Costs

tramscape
07-06-2013, 16:47
Winter refit costs seem to have escalated enormously in recent years to the point where they are about £ 0.5 million for Waverley and £ 0.25 million for Balmoral - give or take

These costs are after the input of enormous amounts of volunteer time

These costs weigh extremely heavily on the business bottom line and from what I can see are at a level which surely could not be carried by the numerous steamships operating around Europe based on their passenger numbers and estimated turnover (even pro-ratad for size of ship)

Is there something which makes our ships that much more expensive to maintain - and if so, is there something that could be done to reduce this fixed cost ?

I am no expert, but could it be reduced if the annual sailing programme is reduced ?

What if the sailing area is limited to inshore waters only ?

It may not be enough in itself to save the ships (and may not be worth it if it means that the ships cannot tap into profitable revenue streams), but I would still like to know if there is anything that can be done.

It seems strange if our ships are bearing massive costs if historic ships operating elsewhere (under EC rules and equally concerned local certifying authorities) are able to survive without such massive fixed costs.

I will for sure accept that we are "stuck" with such costs, but can anyone put me straight on this ?

tramscape
07-10-2013, 15:14
I'm just reminding the board about this by bringing it back into sight on to the 10 most recent threads list in the hope that one of the experts on this board can shed some light here for me

If nothing, I'll let it slip

tramscape
07-11-2013, 21:30
I see that it cost Shieldhall £ 134 k for dry docking and in-water inspections in 2012 (£ 50 k in 2011)